Star Wars: The Clone Wars [2009] Season 2. 22 Episodes

Star Wars: The Clone Wars (more appropriately “Star Wars: War Journal”) returns for a second action packed season.  It is a good thing it is filled with action, because plot wise it is stuck in a very narrow band of Star Wars history, -the most depressing one unfortunately.

“In this season I am, but look for me hard you must.”

The plot synopsis of season two in a sentence?  There really was not much of it, but we will try:  In a series of overly elaborate battles Jedi find themselves fighting in all manner of contrived situations where scores of clones get wiped out daily and the real bad guys pulling strings behind the scenes walk away unscathed.

We understand Ahsoka. We might have that expression too if our master said something like, “Okay guys, we’re going to run right down the center of those guns!” every other episode.

Want to see Jedi tortured to death and scores of good guys killed on a regular basis?  Yearning for one Pyrrhic victory after another?  How about enjoying all this happiness knowing that in a few months of their time the old republic will fall, the Sith will rise to power, Anakin will go evil and butcher the Jedi children and almost every single Jedi will be betrayed and murdered by their own troops.  What are we fighting for again?

Oh that kooky Cade Bane, you never know who he’ll kill next. “I told you not to bother me while I’m torturing jedi!”

The Jedi are in a constant state of being tricked, bamboozled, deceived and buffaloed by Sith, bounty hunters and even a pre-pubescent Boba Fett.  Add to that marital disharmony between Anakin and Padme and you have to wonder why this period was chosen to host a Star Wars universe show.

On the bright side, Padme was looking good. What does she hold that dress on with? Space glue?

Clones may just be clones, but in this series they are purposely humanized.  There are ongoing clone characters and plots designed to have you invest in them.  So the insane numbers that are thrown away with ridiculous tactics every episode (usually because of Anakin’s foolhardy headstrong impulsiveness) is staggering.

Cade Bane and Aurra Sing: Which of these two is evil, and which is psycho?

Every scene with Anakin has an uncomfortable tension in it.  Like he can go postal at any time on his unfortunate padawan Ahsoka, or his unfortunate master.  The latter, Obi Wan, is still on top of his game and one of the few bright spots in the show.  He and Yoda spend the season scratching their heads saying things like, “Who is pulling their strings?” and “Sense evil I do…”  etc.  But they will never find it until too late.  We know how it ends!  Badly!

What CGI series is complete without a mechanical spider?

Obi Wan has a giiiirrrllfriend, nah nah.

There were a few mid-season episodes which were witty and enjoyable.  It was interesting to see Mandalore, home of the infamous suit used by Boba Fett.  Obi Wan and an old flame got reaquinted there.  He is a very reliable and comfortable character.  One of the few you can fully get behind, and one of the only you know for sure will live another year.  Outside of that the episodes grew largely repetitive.  What can happen?  Can Palpatine’s schemes be stopped?  No.  Can Dooku be killed?  No.

“I’m just going to stand here striking this overconfident pose.”

Can’t these two just… get along? How many light sabers can you count in this picture?

Lucas did want to show off Jedi at their peak, and seeing them in action is fun.  Although the technology is inconsistent and in many ways acted out in a very WWII fashion.  The way bomber strikes are called in, tanks are used– apparently there is not an objective in this war that cannot be taken after a forced battle between a gross of robots and scores of clone troopers firing small arms.

“We really do not have any serious plot to advance, so why not a couple Godzilla episodes?”

Obi Wan hangs around with Boba Fett wanna-bes.

There were some amazing vehicles and scenes to appreciate that could not have been done easily in live action.  For that we are grateful.  Additionally the makers craftsmanship grows with experience and we see many beauty shots.  The season goes on to end with good but out of place small stories. Very un-finale.  Overall it was like eating a candy bar for dinner; tasty but in the end unsatisfying.

“Wipe them out, all of them. Heh heh, just practicing.”

Check out related takes:

Star Wars: The Clone Wars [2008] Season 1

Star Wars: The Clone Wars [2009] Season 2

Star Wars: The Clone Wars [2010] Season 3

Star Wars: The Clone Wars [2011] Season 4

Bonus Picture:

 

Because you asked for it: Young Boba Fett threatening Jedi even at a young age. Kids think they know everything…

 

8 thoughts on “Star Wars: The Clone Wars [2009] Season 2. 22 Episodes

  1. Hello those in the Fortress. I happened to be in the neighborhood tonight and thought, why not read something entertaining? I do not know the Star Wars franchise and universe like those who have or currently follow it, but I think this take is still entertaining, even for a Star Wars noob like myself.

    Neat animated gif of the ongoing warp-driving spaceship. It really does look like it’s never-ending.

    Then the Yoda picture caption made me laugh. Out loud in fact. Yoda is one of my favorite characters if only because of the way he talks. Oh yeah, he’s wise and strong and other things…but his speech is so unique. And fun to mimic in witty imitation. Heh.

    I really do not like a series where the good guys battles endlessly only for the bad guys to make narrow or “I’ll be back soon!” escapes. Bleh. I see why this season holds little value. A good series needs a balance of true wins and losses to make for good action and drama.

    Oo, nice word choice, “Pyrrhic”. At what cost is winning worth it? For the good guys it seems like kamikaze style is in.

    …pre-pubescent Boba Fett? I know I shouldn’t say this but, awwwww. I am curious as to how he looks. Or maybe they made him in bad-boy style like a certain severe Prince Zuko.

    Obi Wan Kenobi is looking like the best designed character of the show. I like his light-saber stance picture you chose for this take. Makes me want to learn the ways of the Jedi just to look that cool.

    Ha! The mechanical spiders comment. Astute you are, get old they do not.

    Luminara does look overly confident in that picture, but so would I if that giant battle-ship behind me was under my firepower control. Heh.

    The punny Obi Wan picture and comment near the end just made my night, lol.

    I sympathize with Star Wars fans on the way the season was dragged out. The battles needed freshness but I sense that was lost in preference for Anakin to go a little too bonkers and little too many times. Obviously we need to take away his stash of candy bars.

    Fun is this take; delightment I had.

    • Thanks for droppin’ in on a take that is not your (hyper)speed. That opening gif would have been almost perfect had the ship not been slowly approaching the camera. Glad you still think it is “da (droid) bomb”.

      Obi Wan is the most enjoyable for us in this season. He is a competent and confident good guy in a sea of gray, black -and politics. It is nice to know he had a girlfriend once (although she was a bit of a complainer – ha). He is one of the few we know lives on beyond this series.

      It seems Obi Wan and General Grievous are contractually obligated to lock light sabers – lots of them – each season. Obi Wan is fearless, even when it is four sabers to one. 😉

      PS – “The bonus pic enjoy you should.”

      • Aww, my, little Fett’s got quite the wiggy hair. No wonder he wears a helmet later. Well…coupled with that expression (and possibly a gun at my head) I would probably find him quite threatening, even in his tweeny years. And if he keeps making that face it’ll stay that way, ya know? ; ) Thank you for answering my piqued interest with a picture.

  2. Obi Wan has a giiiirrrllfriend, nah nah.
    “I’m just going to stand here striking this overconfident pose.”
    This has to be my favorite quote so I’m going to take my time to respond to each caption. 🙂

    “In this season I am, but look for me hard you must.”

    I’m embarrassed to say but in one episode I “overlooked” Yoda because of his height. I kept hearing his voice and was freaking out because I didn’t see anything. It took me awhile to ” pin-point” his position. I agree. Look hard you must.

    We understand Ahsoka. We might have that expression too if our master said something like, “Okay guys, we’re going to run right down the center of those guns!” every other episode.

    Hahaha. Ahsoka is an exact copy of her master. Except she got….. little things on her head… and is a different color… YOU GET THE POINT. She’s just upset because she can’t have her way. Watch her closely in the other seasons she gets hella stubborn because she thinks she can do it.

    Oh that kooky Cade Bane, you never know who he’ll kill next. “I told you not to bother me while I’m torturing jedi!”

    No kidding. Bane would kill his own momma if he could get a pretty price. Which reminds me…. did he already? Naughty Bane. He’s already three steps ahead of me. What’s next his sister?

    On the bright side, Padme was looking good. What does she hold that dress on with? Space glue?

    Most of the clothes she wears I find striking on her but this… this… was just…. interesting. I kept telling myself that she had an accident in some lab and turned the straps invisible and decided she liked it that way.

    Cade Bane and Aurra Sing: Which of these two is evil, and which is psycho?

    Honestly. Their both evil but none is psycho. Bane is smart and pretty quick on his feet. Aurra is just black-hearted.

    What CGI series is complete without a mechanical spider?

    Right on. 🙂

    Obi Wan has a giiiirrrllfriend, nah nah.

    LOL. Again I died when I saw that. 🙂 That was funny. She does complain a lot yet I find myself ticked that Obi Wan didn’t go after her. Idiot. -____-
    Then again he never knew her true feelings till much later when their oh… right around DEATH. You think the two could have been a little bit more forth-coming with something as fragile as love. 😄

    “I’m just going to stand here striking this overconfident pose.”

    I don’t think I could do better. Amazing. 🙂 I had a good laugh. Yep. I mean. She is a jedi. With a lightsaber. Commanding that huge thing. Has a padawan. Got some back-up with faithful clones. Who wouldn’t?

    Can’t these two just… get along? How many light sabers can you count in this picture?

    Never. I get a kick out of Grevious when he goes ” Kenobi.” He has that odd voice and hisses it. His mom knew what she was doing when she named him Grevious. Every mom’s dream. Grevious: ” Mom when I grow up. I’m going to kill thousands of innocent life. Command fleets to bomb and ruthlessly kill children and possibly women! On top of that Im going to murder Jedi a-a-and steal their lightsabers.” Mom: ” * wipes tear from eye * That’s my little boy. He’s going to be just like his father. Make sure you get em in the head honey! And don’t forget to visit!!! Just don’t bring the intergalactic cops my way! I’ve got enough trouble already.” Every mom’s perfect boy? I can only imagine how career day went. Graduation day must have been a sight to behold. Huh? Then Again Kenobi is the opposite so you figure it out 😀 Um… 5. Do I win something?

    “We really do not have any serious plot to advance, so why not a couple Godzilla episodes?”

    It’s developing and the series is better in ” Secrets Revealed” 🙂 Much better. Ahsoka…. is well…. older… and you can figure out the rest. -___- I almost puked. :S She looks better but I really really wanted her to take of her hood when I saw how her head was just bulging out because of her…. WHAT IS THAT EVEN CALLED?!?! HORNS!?!?! Oh yeah throw in King Kong while your at it.

    Obi Wan hangs around with Boba Fett wanna-bes.

    Don’t be cruel. Give them their props. They did manage to temporarily detain him. 😄 Then again a girl managed to get in and save him. 😄 A girl. A girl. Emphasis on pretty princess people but she can kick butt. Why is that all the political chics get in this sort of trouble?!?! I mean. Padme and her!??! Don’t forget that young ambassador in ” Trespass”

    “Wipe them out, all of them. Heh heh, just practicing.”

    ?____? Excuse me If I’m being a bit of let-down here but did you guys get tired.

    Because you asked for it: Young Boba Fett threatening Jedi even at a young age. Kids think they know everything…

    Now that was funny. I know I’m supposed to be disgusted and gasping at this but. BUT. BUT. He’s SOOOO CUTE. I was dying by the t.v. screen just looking at it. His eyes and hair just totally got me. I don’t think I can hold a grudge against him tell my brother told me…. that what if he killed my cats. -__- I’ll kick his butt if he does that. Forget how cute he is. AND. If Fett gets older ( OMG) and goes Prince Zuko bad-boy. .. I will be the most devoted fan you will ever possibly see. 😄

    Great review. Awesome sense of humor.
    Can anyone picture this odd twist?
    Ahsoka + Anakin?

    Warning: Can result in loss of sight, hearing, and possibly sanity.
    Please consult medical doctor if any of the following sympathy occurs
    – Accent Like Yoda’s. If you begin to speak in any of the following ways
    ” A disturbance in the force. Hmmm”
    Etc.
    – Frequent obsession spazzes ( Don’t ask )
    – Star Wars begins to display more frequently at your house
    – And sudden skill with wielding plastic light sabers.

    Wash eyes thoroughly and instead of contacting the poison control center sit tight for the next season.!!! I’ve had all symptoms and am so psyched for the next season

    ~ Kyra

    • Padme’s pictured dress did defy gravity, or was made of some self clinging space fabric. Is Aurra psycho or blackhearted? Cannot she be both? 😉

      It was nice to see that Obi Wan had a love once. He is one of our favorite characters if not our favorite in the CGI series. Could he have stayed with her and still done all the crucial things he eventually did?

      You guessed right on the lightsabers count. You were not thrown off by that energy staff. You get a FortressTakes no-prize. Congratulations. Yeah, somehow doubt that “Grevious” will catch on in the registry of most popular baby names. 😉

      You have us curious about season three. Will will likely do a take on it.

      The Star Wars universe does not have a lot of women, but most of the few depicted are strong types.

      You know, people appreciate the Boba Fett character for a lot of reasons. However the cuteness factor may not have been on our list of his top qualities. Now we know people see more in Boba Fett than just the usual cunning and stuff.

      “Ahsoka + Anakin”? What does season 3 have in store for us?

  3. Message to Kyra Nyx:
    Ahsoka’s ‘horns’ are called montrals. That’s the scientific name for them. Just saying.

  4. If anyone wants to know any Star Wars facts I’ve memorized all of the episodes and I know mostly everything about it so feel free to ask 🙂

Say it to the FORTRESS, whether you agree or not!

